Beer bet it never flies.

So I’ve been saying this for months and no takers yet.

Beer bet the NASA SLS never flies.  Not even a test flight.

Don’t get me wrong: I’m as crazy an optimist as there is.  I hope to high heaven I’m wrong.  I want the US (and the world) to have this capability.  But I don’t have any hope that the SLS will ever fly.  Why not you ask? Because the Congress of the United States is dictating the design and politics.  This is a purely political project, nothing to do with furthering the actual goals of NASA (goals? NASA has goals?) or human spaceflight OR “large payload” spaceflight.

So here’s the thing.  I bet anybody who puts a comment in this blog post a beer that the SLS never flies.  Not even a test flight.  Conditions: I will not travel more than 100 miles from my home to either pay up or collect.  Either you have to come to me or you meet me somewhere when I’m on travel.  This ends when one of two conditions occurs:

  1. An SLS test flight actually launches or
  2. the SLS program is cancelled.

The rocket that launches has to be substantially the design that exists as of 1-July-2012.  If it’s even close, I’ll be happy to pay up, I’m not going to be a snot about it, I’ll be honestly happy to be wrong.

Any takers?

About VAXHeadroom

Among other things I was the Lead C&DH Flight Software Engineer on LCROSS. My LCROSS photo blog on Facebook can be accessed at http://tinyurl.com/lcross-is-go I run a recording studio and publishing company http://www.untiedmusic.com and tweet as @VAXHeadroom. I'm also a public speaker on space, physics, technology and stage performance. I love talking to kids from K to college, drop me an email if interested in having me come speak!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Beer bet it never flies.

  1. VAXHeadroom says:

    P.S. – this is a safe bet. I don’t drink beer…

  2. Brandon says:

    I’ll take the bet. I’ll lose, but hopefully get to pick your brain about past projects in the process. 🙂

  3. James Rich says:

    I bet it flies… once…. alas.

  4. Christine says:

    It will be cancelled by Congress; pushed aside for a better idea.

  5. blakesa23 says:

    I bet it does not… I’ll have a Cider!

  6. Gil Gamboa says:

    I will take your bet and say it will 🙂 I don’t drink beer either and if I do I break out 😦

  7. Destrey says:

    It’s always a pleasure to hear from someone with exretpise.

Leave a Reply

